2010 CIS SID WORKSHOP PRESENTATIONS & MATERIAL

SESSION 2: Social Networking (Twitter, Facebook, Blogs, YouTube, etc.)

- How To Guide: Social Networking (.doc 2.79 MB)
- Social Networking Cheat Sheet (.doc 25.5 kb)
- Media Training for Athletes (.doc 26.0 KB)

Social Media Revolution 2
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lFZ0z5Fm-Ng

Did You Know 4.0
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ILQrUrEWe8


SESSION 3: Webcasting & Video Content (From in-house to professional)

Ari Grossman – Laurier agrossman@wlu.ca
Mike Whitehouse – Laurier mwhitehouse@wlu.ca
Cam Dunlop - McMaster dunlopc@mcmaster.ca
Bengt Neathery – SSN Canada

1. Simple Video Streaming (.doc 25 KB)

2. Next Level Of Video Streaming

Newtek Tricaster Mobile Production System
http://www.newtek.com/tricaster/

Google's Daring Plan to Save the News
http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2010/06/how-to-save-the-news/8095/ 

Dallas Morning News HD Frame Grab Workflow; (PDF 989 KB)
McMaster CIS Cross Country Championship 2009 - One HD Camera Shoot

Sample photo gallery of frame grabs:
http://www.athrec.mcmaster.ca/athletics/teams/crosscountry/news/2009/photos/cis111409/index.html

Video Recap:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-yInFF5dajg&feature=player_embedded

McMaster 2008 Women's Basketball CIS Championship Documentary
Mixing multiple video sources into one end product; broadcast footage and one HD camera footage.
http://www.athrec.mcmaster.ca/podiumfinish/


SESSION 4: SendtoNews (PDF 2.03 MB)

Leigh Kjekstad – SendtoNews
Website: www.sendtonews.com
E-mail: leigh.kjekstad@sendtonews.com

 

SESSION 5: College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA)
Eric McDowell – Union College, NY: mcdowele@union.edu
http://www.cosida.com

- College Sports Information Directors of America
Academic All-American Programs (PDF 197 KB)

- CoSIDA Academic All America Expansion June 28 Statement (PDF 50 KB) 

 

SESSION 6: PrestoSports & CIS Website

Ted Bardach - PrestoSports ted@prestosports.com
Robb Modica – PrestoSports robb@prestosports.com
Jason Ilacqua - CIS ilacqua@universitysport.ca

- 2010 PrestoSports User Manual (PDF 357 kb)
- How to Edit StatCrew rosters without StatCrew (.doc 26.5 kb)
- Sample HRO roster file as text file (.txt 96 bytes)
- PrestoSports Live Stat setup (PDF 53.5 kb)


SESSION 7: Stat Crew

- FIBA Basketball Stats Manual (PDF 3.49 MB)

- NCAA Volleyball Stats Manual (PDF 196 kb)
- NCAA Volleyball Hints (PDF 129 kb)

- Fun with StatCrew Presentation Guide (PDF 2.67 MB)
- StatCrew Football Game Setup (PDF 176 KB))
- Penalty advice for football (PDF 140 KB)


SESSION 8: CP Writing

Alex Panetta – News Editor Canadian Press
www.thecanadianpress.com

- CP Style (PDF 213 KB)
- Writing Press Releases (PDF 101 KB)

- Human Interest Stories (PDF 66 KB)
- CP Style Presentation (PPT 437 KB)


SESSION 10: Table Topics

1. Media Guides
Ben Matchett – Calgary ben.matchett@ucalgary.ca

Examples:
- Saskatchewan Women's Basketball (PDF)
- Calgary Men's Basketball (PDF)
- Guelph Women's Field Hockey (PDF)
- Queen's Football (PDF)
- McGill Women's Hockey (PDF
- StFX Women's Rugby (PDF)
- Montreal Women's Soccer (PDF)
- Trinity Western Men's Soccer (PDF)
- UBC Women's Volleyball (PDF)
- Laval Men's Volleyball (PDF)

2. Proofreading
Earl Zukerman - McGill earl.zukerman@mcgill.ca

- Editing and Proofreading (PDF 220 KB)
- Bad Releases (PDF 125 KB)

3. StatCrew
Braden Konschuh – Regina Braden.Konschuh@uregina.ca
John Edwards

4. Driving Traffic to your Website (PDF 73 KB)
Eric Cederberg – Acadia eric.cederberg@acadiau.ca

5. Human Interest Stories (PDF 66 KB)
Andy Watson 

6. Office Management – Student Assistants (PDF 135 KB)
Maureen Sparks - UNB sparks@unb.ca

7. Hosting Championships & Major Events (PDF 84.9 KB)
Michael Grobe

8. Media Training for Athletes (.doc 26.0 KB)
Catherine Grace - Concordia cgrace@alcor.concordia.ca

View: Mobile | Desktop

Home of Canadian Interuniversity Sport