Queen's University - Strathcona Paper Centre | Napanee, ON | March 16-19

2017 Women's Hockey Championship

2009-10 QSSF major awards and all-stars announced

MONTREAL – The Quebec Student Sport Federation (QSSF) is pleased to release its major award winners and all-star teams for the 2009-2010 women’s university ice hockey season.

McGill Martlets standout blue liner Cathy Chartrand (Lac Nominingue, Que.) has been selected as the most outstanding player in the QSSF this season. The third year rearguard ended the campaign ranked fourth in league scoring with 28 points, lighting the lamp ten (10) times while setting up 18 other tallies for the undefeated Marlets. Big number 8 follows in the footsteps of her teammates Ann-Sophie Bettez and Vanessa Davidson who were named as the player of the year in each of the past two seasons.

McGill interim head coach Amey Doyle was named the Coach of the Year for guiding the two-time defending Canadian champions to a 20-0 record and fifth consecutive regular season league crown. Doyle, who has been an assistant coach at McGill since 2002, is guiding the team while Peter Smith is on a leave of absence to serve as an assistant coach with the Canadian women’s Olympic hockey team. The Martlets enter the playoffs having won 80 consecutive regular season and playoff games.

Kim Deschênes (St. Quentin, NB) of the Université de Montréal Carabins has been named QSSF rookie of the year. The 18-year old forward led all first-year scorers with 28-points which placed her third amongst all players in the QSSF this season. The New Brunswick native bulged the twine 14 times in 20 games, including five game winners as the Carabins posted a 13-6-1 record in their inaugural season.

Ottawa blue liner Christine Allen (Gatineau, Que.) has been selected as the QSSF nominee for the 2010 Marion Hilliard Award, presented annually to the Canadian Interuniversity Sport (CIS) women’s hockey player who best combines academic and sport excellence with community service. The fifth year captain of the Gee-Gees finished the 2009-10 campaign as the third leader scorer amongst defensive player in the QSSF, tallying two (2) goals and eight (8) assists in 20 games. When she is not playing hockey or working on her MA in Physiotherapy, Allen shares her expertise with young players in the Ottawa and Gatineau girls minor hockey systems.

Player of the Year
Cathy Chartrand (Defence) McGill, Education (Physical & Health), Lac Nominingue, Que.

Rookie of the Year
Kim Deschênes (Forward) Montréal, BAC120, St. Quentin, NB

Marion Hilliard Award nominee
Christine Allen (Defence) Ottawa, MA (Physiotherapy), Gatineau, Que.

Coach of the Year
Amey Doyle, McGill


Position, name, university, course, hometown

Forward: Ann-Sophie Bettez, McGill, Management, Sept-Îles, Que. *

Forward: Vanessa Davidson, McGill, Education (Physical & Health), Kirkland, Que.

Forward: Kim Deschênes, Montréal, BAC120, St. Quentin, NB

Defence: Cathy Chartrand, McGill, Education (Physical & Health), Lac Nominingue, Que.

Defence: Marie-Hélène Suc, Montréal, Nursing, Quebec City, Que. *

Goaltender: Valérie Charbonneau, Carleton, Psychology, Sudbury, Ont.


Position, name, university, course, hometown

Forward: Marie-Andrée Leclerc-Auger, Montréal, Physical and Health Education, Sherbrooke, Que. *

Forward: Fannie Desforges, Ottawa, Human Kinetics, Fournier, Ont.

Forward: Érica Pouliot, Ottawa, Human Kinetics, Saint-Joseph-de-Beauce, Que.

Defence: Caroline Hill, McGill, Education (Physical & Health), Dorval, Que.

Defence: Amber Foster, Ottawa, Human Kinetics, Kemptville, Ont.

Goaltender: Taylor Salisbury, McGill, Science, Surrey, Colombie-Britannique

* Quebec Fondation for Athletic Excellence bursary recipient

La Fédération québécoise du sport étudiant assure la promotion et le développement du sport et de l’activité physique en milieu étudiant, de l’initiation jusqu’au sport de haut niveau. Elle favorise ainsi l’éducation, la réussite scolaire et la santé des jeunes.


Fédération québécoise du sport étudiant

Home of Canadian Interuniversity Sport