Scotiabank Centre | Halifax , NS | March 9 - 12

2017 ArcelorMittal Dofasco U Sports Men's Basketball Final 8

2010 CIS championship: Carleton seeded No. 1, UBC earns wildcard

OTTAWA (CIS) – The defending national champion and tournament host Carleton University Ravens are the top-ranked team heading into this week’s CIS men’s basketball Final 8.
Championship website:
The seedings were announced Sunday night for the 2010 CIS tourney set to get underway on Friday at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa. The gold-medal final is scheduled for next Sunday at 6:30 p.m., live on TSN2.
Rounding out the list of participating teams are the No. 2 Cape Breton Capers (AUS champions), No. 3 UBC Thunderbirds (Canada West bronze medallists), No. 4 Windsor Lancers (OUA finalists), No. 5 Saskatchewan Huskies (Canada West champions), No. 6 Lakehead Thunderwolves (OUA bronze medallists), No. 7 Calgary Dinos (Canada West finalists), and No. 8 UQAM Citadins (QSSF champions).
UBC received the wildcard entry following a vote by a committee of CIS coaches. The Thunderbirds were ranked either first or second all season in the weekly national coaches’ poll and had only one loss in conference play before being upset by Saskatchewan in the Canada West semifinals.
The OUA champions Ravens, who have captured six of the past seven W.P. McGee trophies as CIS monarchs, begin their title defence against UQAM Friday at 8 p.m. (TSN2), in the last quarter-final duel.
The other first-round match-ups pit Cape Breton against Calgary at 12:30 p.m., UBC against Lakehead at 2:30 p.m., and Windsor against Saskatchewan at 6 p.m. (TSN2).
The CIS all-Canadians and major award winners will be unveiled at a reception on Thursday evening.
Note: A complete championship preview will follow on Tuesday.
1. Carleton Ravens (OUA champions: 20-2 regular season / 3-0 playoffs)
2. Cape Breton Capers (AUS champions: 18-2 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
3. UBC Thunderbirds (Wildcard: 17-1 regular season / 3-1 playoffs)
4. Windsor Lancers (OUA finalists: 17-5 regular season / 2-1 playoffs)
5. Saskatchewan Huskies (CWUAA champions: 14-6 regular season / 4-0 playoffs)
6. Lakehead Thunderwolves (OUA bronze medallists: 17-5 regular season / 2-1 playoffs)
7. Calgary Dinos (CWUAA finalists: 15-5 regular season / 3-1 playoffs)
8. UQAM Citadins (QSSF champions: 11-5 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)
Thursday, March 18
19:30   All-Canadian Awards Reception (Marriott Hotel – Victoria Room)
Friday, March 19
12:30 Quarter-final #1: No. 2 Cape Breton vs. No. 7 Calgary (SSN Canada)
14:30 Quarter-final #2: No. 3 UBC vs. No. 6 Lakehead (SSN Canada)
18:00 Quarter-final #3: No. 4 Windsor vs. No. 5 Saskatchewan (TSN2)
20:00 Quarter-final #4: No. 1 Carleton vs. No. 8 UQAM (TSN2)
Saturday, March 20
11:30 Consolation #1: Loser QF #1 vs. Loser QF #2 (SSN Canada)
13:30 Consolation #2: Loser QF #3 vs. Loser QF #4 (SSN Canada)
17:00 Semifinal #1: Winner QF #1 vs. Winner QF #2 (TSN2)
19:00 Semifinal #2: Winner QF #3 vs. Winner QF #4 (TSN2)
Sunday, March 21
16:00 Consolation final (5th place) (SSN Canada)
18:30 Championship final (TSN2)

Home of Canadian Interuniversity Sport